“RAIN IN JULY, PUTS SUMMER & CROPS ON THE SLY!! SUMMER RAIN, IN EUGENE, OREGON!”

Standard

1-7-marlamallettbali_rect540

(BEAUTIFUL ANTIQUE CARPET)

it was July almost, in Eugene everyone was preparing for the fourth. However, it’s been increasingly hard to have a summer here, because we have such changes in the weather, you don’t know when it’s going to rain or shine – – and that is in June! Just the end of June, and there’s no way you can prepare to have a picnic or any outdoor event, because it will probably rain on it!.

I watched some of the younger girls trying to wear sundresses, and have to resort to raincoats and umbrellas; it was no fun for University of Oregon coeds, who had to nix the shorts, and haul out the rain boots instead. As for the small farmers, this was supposed to be there month to have tons and tons of heat and sun, and make those crops bounce out of the earth.

It wasn’t happening.I had quit trying to garden here myself, because one July all of my squash  went to mold, because all of July became overcast, foggy, and cold and damp. About 30 years ago, we had excellent gardening and farming weather here; it rained all winter and fall and spring, and then in late summer and fall, we used to have very hot weather, lots of sun, and all the crops and flowers burst right out of the ground.

however over the years, the weather that was so great for gardening and farming in Eugene and this County, lost all of its strength. It became overcast, all the time with no Sun. Not only that during the winter and fall there never was enough rain anymore. So we had double trouble; not enough water anymore, and then in the summer not enough sun and heat.you just can’t garden or farm in a place with that combination!.

I saw my former shrink, at a beading and jewelry fair, (which mercifully was with a roof overhead) and asked him if he was still trying to garden. He looked aggravated, and said “I have wasted so much seed, plants, and materials trying to grow something!” “So what are you going to do? Doesn’t it get expensive?” I asked. “Thank God I’m not a professional farmer here,” he groaned. “I’d be bankrupt! I can’t afford to keep trying.” I replied, “that’s why I quit trying to garden here. If something grows on my place, its on its own. Like I have wild roses in the front, and I have no idea how they are managing! If I had planted them they would’ve been dead by now. Chuckle chuckle.”

I continued, “I noticed that a lot of people have flowers in the spring, but I don’t know how they do it.” “It looks like we’re having summer in may, instead of July,  now,” he answered in return.” I guess we had our summer early!and now July is resorting to fall, with all this rain!” I shook my head; I really couldn’t figure out the world climate change anymore as it related to Eugene, and how it had ruined one of the best gardening and farming areas around. Even my dad wouldn’t have been able to garden here now. Well, maybe he would he was a genius. Even genius has its limits.

My friend gestured towards a family, that was looking over at a beading table,; “I know those people, they are local small organic farmers. They’re just about ready to lose their mortgage on their farm.” I gasped; “is it getting that bad here? I didn’t realize it. The newspaper always has all this cheerful stuff, –About the farmers market, and how well all the organic farms are doing here.”

And my friend answered, still looking at the family, “I think it’s a lot of bluffing.” He answered grimly. “Some of them are doing okay, maybe the very old ones who know how to advertise, etc. But some of these new organic people expected really good weather here all the time, and now that summer is completely CONFUSED, comes   in May or April, and leaves in July to usher in fall  early, maybe they’ll have to resort to greenhouses or hydroponics.” I whispered to him, “PSST– why are they here then? What are they doing?”

“They told me before,” he answered sadly, “they’re thinking of selling the farm before they lose the mortgage, if they can, even though they take a huge loss, and going into some other trade that doesn’t get clobbered by the weather.” That would account for that little farm family going through all the beading and jewelry displays, looking around a lot. “I don’t really know how mortgages work,” I replied. “Can you sell your mortgage even though you’re going to lose it?”

“I’m not too up on that myself,” he answered. “Supposedly Obama and his mortgage support is supposed to help people like that, but they haven’t been able to get it.” “Aren’t those the very people that mortgage help from Obama is supposed to help in the first place? How come they can’t get it?” I asked puzzled. “Do you know anybody else lately, whose tried to refinance their mortgage? Or tried to get help with it?” “Only my sister and her partner, who are being told they don’t have high enough income to refinance.” He nodded, “that’s exactly it; you can’t refinance or get help for your mortgage, you don’t have a big enough income. That’s what they want, people with huge income! The insurance companies want BIG EARNERS! Not a poor little farm families who were about to lose it!”

I really was completely puzzled now; and my former therapist didn’t look too happy, but he was supposed to be a liberal and very in favor of Obama. He probably voted for him twice. “I don’t understand,” I said “I thought the whole point of “hope and change” in the Obama campaign, was really to have everybody’s CHANGE for the better! Not to put all the taxes up for all the working class people I know,, and refuse help to farmers who are losing their mortgage!”

my friend still didn’t look very happy. Imagine that, in Oregon, an unhappy liberal!”well,” I decided to end the conversation,and go look for cheap beads, “you can’t blame this on the Republicans, can you? Can you blame it on us “neo-cons”? We are all for supporting farmers. I mean, look at how all the Republicans AND DEMOCRATS, padded all those huge farming bills, in the past, to pay farmers for not farming? And putting all that pork belly, in all those farming bills?you can’t say that they didn’t pad all those farmers, for all those years, to not farm and not produce food? Ha ha. And now it really is true, the small farmers here, CAN’T PRODUCE FOOD, because of the damn weather change? and the food they do produce is overwhelmingly expensive organic?” I was getting a little impatient I wanted to go look for cheap pearls.

My liberal friend was getting a little hot under his therapist collar; “there’s nothing wrong with farmer subsidizing, those subsidizing farmers Bill! All of those Americans who have businesses, and farms, and healthcare, all have a right to get lots of help from the government! That’s what it’s there for to help everybody with everything!” We were getting into a fighting stance.

“Maybe that’s why I am a “neo-con”,” I said dryly. “I think most of us are getting a little tired of asking the government to do EVERYTHING. It’s kind of hard to pay for that.” I grinned.”I still don’t eat any organic produce or food,” I remarked, “I can barely. afford to go to cheapo Win-Co nonorganic monster airplane hangar supermarket for the poor. All of us are decidedly eating junk food, cheap hamburgers, once in a while, just so we can afford to eat!!!WHO is eating all this expensive organic food?” I looked at him.

“I get it,” I continued; “it’s all these rich yuppies, specially from California, and they’re eating all the organic food and paying a fortune for it. And trying to get us to do the same thing. I’m afraid that won’t wash here; everybody’s not rich – liberals, and organic crazy–extremists. Some of us just have to eat ORDINARY old food, that’s all we can afford.” I paused. “After all,some of us here are still native Oregonians, and that means we’re not rich.”

I decided to leave my friend, with a parting shot “maybe you should ask your organic farming friends to go ask the government again, and tell Obama they will gladly work for the NSA, or homeland security, or what ever the government secret jobs here are, in Oregon. That’s where all the money is anyhow, for jobs; in the government.”I retreated, off to the Pearl tables, before he could mouth off a reply.

Imagine getting   the last word in  with your ex-therapist!  The  weather was sill lousy, the sky still over-cast, and the new July still entering Fall , and the fed. govt. was still a bloated,tottering,  Humpty-Dumpty-on-the-wall-going-to-fall,  and regular food still cost a fortune, but what was the REAL DICTIONARY MEANING of the word “organic”?

 Did it mean “pure food not grown with additives or being a GMO”?  Did “organic” mean, “pure as the driven snow”?   So all that is organic  is BLESSED  BY GOD? NO, it seems to mean “Fashionable, yuppie” and  most of all, losing your farm-mortgage to damaged and confused Oregon summer weather, and deciding  to trade in farming to go back to doing brokerage work for  hedge-funds!  Please don’t ask  me what the word “organic” means, that definition has become infested with LICE!   That and world climate change!!  TSK.TSK. They just don’t make words like  they used to.do..  🙂

(Sandraminadotty. in Eugene, eating crappy cheap junk food , and passing those PURE TURNIPS  by!)  🙂  ….

About WhatToDoWhileThePlanetDies

Eugene,Oregon,home of the U. of Oregon,is a dissolute,gay,hippie,broke, jobless, crime and drug-ridden courupt little no-account town, bulging with fleeing Californicators, who have pushed the natives out,done to Oregon what they did to cali; trashed it. the horrible grid-lock traffic, smog,bad freeways full of accidents have turned it into decayed Detroit.Everyone is broke, there are no jobs,it's left-wing extreme-fanatic crazy, and there are constant political conflicts.Oppression and stifiling city hall crooks fleece the citizens of taxes, it;s the Macon Georgia of the pacific northwest.Anyone who can, leaves.Landowners can't sell, they're stuck.Even the Nazi party would call it Hell.Willamette Valley has the worst pollen,smog,allergies, in the world.Nature and Man are out to get you here, welcome to Oregon!The trash-heap of the United States!

Leave a Reply

